Abdellah Karroum

Director of Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art

Abdellah Karroum has been the Director of Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art in Doha since 2013.   

Karroum is the founder and artistic director of a number of art initiatives, including L’appartement 22 in Rabat, Morocco.   

He has also curated numerous exhibitions, such as, most recently, Our World Is Burning (2020) at Palais de Tokyo, Paris; Revolution Generations (2018), Shakir Hassan Al Said: The Wall (2017), Wael Shawky: Crusades and Other Stories (2015), Farid Belkahia: Aube(s) (2015), and Shirin Neshat: Afterwards (2014).  

He was artistic director of Inventing the World: The Artist as Citizen for the Biennale Benin (2012); curator of Sous nos yeux [Before Our Eyes] at La Kunsthalle de Mulhouse, France (2013) and at the Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona (2014); and associate curator of Intense Proximity for La Triennale, Paris (2012).   

Other curatorial and research projects Karroum has led include the Sentences on the Banks and other activities at Darat Al-Funun, Amman (2010); A Proposal for Articulating Works and Places for the 3rd Biennale of Marrakech (2009); the R22 art experimental web radio station established in 2007; Le Bout Du Monde art expeditions (ongoing since 2000); and the Editions hors’champs series of art publications established in 1999.  

He received his PhD in Communication, Art and Performance from the Michel de Montaigne University, Bordeaux in 2001 with a dissertation titled “Nomadic Works: Towards a Post-Contemporary Art”. He is a regular contributor to specialised art publications.

عبد الله كروم

مدير متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث

عبد الله كروم مدير متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث في الدوحة منذ عام 2013.

كروم هو المؤسس والمدير الفني لعدد من المبادرات الفنية، بما في ذلك مبادرة الشقة ٢٢ في الرباط، المغرب.

كما قام بتنظيم العديد من المعارض، مثل ، آخرها عالمنا يحترق (2020) في قصر طوكيو ، باريس ؛ أجيال الثورة (2018)، "شاكر حسن آل سعيد: "الجدار" (2017)، وائل شوقي: الحروب الصليبية وقصص أخرى (2015)، فريد بلقاية: أوبي (2015)، وشيرين نيشات: بعد ذلك (2014)  

وكان المدير الفني لاختراع العالم: الفنان كمواطن لبنين (2012)؛ أمين Sous nos yeux [أمام أعيننا] في La Kunsthalle de Mulhouse، فرنسا (2013) وفي MACBA (2014)؛ وأمين مشارك على التقارب الشديد في لا ترينالي، باريس (2012).

وتشمل المشاريع الأخرى التي قدها كروم في مجال التخطيط والبحث العقوبات على البنوك وغيرها من الأنشطة في دارة الفنون، عمان (2010). اقتراح لبلورة أعمال وأماكن البينالي الثالث في مراكش(2009)؛ راديو الشقة ٢٢ الفن التجريبية محطة إذاعية على شبكة الإنترنت التي أنشئت في عام 2007؛ بعثات فنية تحت عنوان طرف الدنيا (جارية منذ عام 2000)؛ وطبعات hors'champs سلسلة من المنشورات الفنية التي أنشئت في عام 1999.

حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الاتصالات والفن والأداء من جامعة ميشيل دي مونتين في بوردو في عام 2001 مع أطروحة بعنوان "الأعمال البدوية: نحو فن ما بعد المعاصرة". وهو مساهم منتظم في المنشورات الفنية المتخصصة