None
What's On
Children and Youth

Paint Palette: Abstract Art for Children

Workshop

Inspired by the works of Samia Halaby, Paint Palette will encourage young children to explore colour, learn art vocabulary and identify shapes while producing vibrant, abstract works on canvas.

Born in Jerusalem in 1936, Samia Halaby is a leading abstract painter and an influential scholar of Palestinian art. Although based in the United States since 1951, Halaby is recognized as a pioneer of contemporary abstraction in the Arab world.

Halaby began her career in the early 1960s, shortly after graduating from Indiana University with an MFA in Painting. While teaching at the Kansas City Art Institute in 1964, she travelled to the Eastern Mediterranean as part of a faculty research grant and studied the geometric abstraction of the region’s Islamic architecture, which has continuously factored into her work. During this time, Halaby launched a series of experiments that would initiate a career-long investigation of the materialist principles of abstraction: how reality can be represented through form.

Also influenced by the abstract movements of the Russian avant-garde, Halaby works with the conviction that innovative approaches to painting can redirect ways of seeing and thinking, not only within the realm of aesthetics but also as contributions to technological and social advancement. This underlying notion has led to additional experiments in drawing, printmaking, computer-based kinetic art and free-from-the- stretcher painting.

Share this page

الفعاليات
الأطفال والشباب

لوحة الألوان: الفن التجريدي للأطفال

ورشة

سيتم تشجيع الأطفال في هذه الورشة على استكشاف الألوان وتعلّم المفردات الفنية وتحديد الأشكال أثناء العمل على إنتاج أعمال تجريدية خلّاقة على اللوحة القماشية استلهاماً من أعمال الفنانة سامية حلبي.

ولدت سامية حلبي في القدس عام 1936، وهي رسامة تجريدية رائدة، وباحثة مؤثرة في الفن الفلسطيني، وعلى الرغم أنها تعيش في الولايات المتحدة منذ 1951 إلا أنها تعد الرائدة في الفن التجريدي المعاصر في العالم العربي.

بدأت حلبي حياتها المهنية في أوائل الستينيات بعد فترة وجيزة من تخرجها من الجامعة بدرجة الماجستير في الرسم، وخلال فترة تدريسها في معهد كانساس سيتي للفنون سافرت إلى شرق المتوسط في 1964 كجزء من البعثة البحثية لأعضاء هيئة التدريس. كما أنها درست فن التجريد الهندسي للعمارة الإسلامية في المنطقة. وخلال هذا الوقت، أطلقت حلبي سلسلة من التجارب التي تبدأ في تحقيق طويل الأمد للمبادئ المادية والتجريد: كيف يمكن تمثيل الواقع من خلال الشكل.

تعمل حلبي بكل قناعة بأن الأساليب الجديدة للرسم يمكن أن تعيد توجيه طرق الرؤية والتفكير، ليس فقط في مجال الجماليات بل كمساهمات في التقدم التكنولوجي والاجتماعي، متأثرة بذلك بالحركات التجريدية للطليعة الروسية. أدت هذه الفكرة إلى خوض تجارب إضافية في الرسم والطباعة والفن الحركي القائم على الكمبيوتر والرسم بدون النقالة الخشبية.

عضو متاحف قطر

استكشف الموضوعات التي تهمك

شارك هذه الصفحة