None
What's On
Adults

Kader Attia: On Silence

Past Exhibition

Kader Attia: On Silence is a major solo exhibition dedicated to the work of the artist over the last two decades, curated by Abdellah Karroum with Assistant Curator Lina Ramadan. The exhibition features a wide range of work across all media and includes site-specific installations, sculptures, collages, drawings, video and photography.

On Silence explores themes of postcolonial trauma and the ensuing decades of psychiatric 'repair' at the social and individual level. The artist's intention and curatorial approach is to provoke the viewer's emotional and physical experience while encountering works placed at various levels in the museum galleries, seen from above, from underneath, and from within but rarely straight on. There are two important commissions featured in connection with Doha.

Modern and contemporary history holds some of the noisiest tragedies that humanity has lived through, and our present moment is affected by the traumatic memories of these events. Colonialism, political oppression and environmental devastation have led to massive migrations across continents, transforming social ecologies in every centre of the world. Yet the ideologies and systems of governance today continue to create zones of silence that bury many of these histories.

This exhibition reflects on silence – a phenomenon that can trigger the need to scream – through works that provoke a visceral appreciation of postcolonial trauma and the process of psychiatric 'repair'. Focusing on Attia's practice over the last two decades, the show deals with topics affecting all humanity while looking specifically at the Middle East and North Africa. In this region the 'deafening silence' on cultural, social and historical issues is transforming taboos and limited spaces of expression into challenges to public life and political debate.

Installation called Ghost that showcases multiple aluminium foil ghost-like figures

Kader Attia (b. 1970). Ghost, 2007. Aluminum foil, variable dimensions. Installation view "Collector", Le Tri Postal, Lille, 2011/2012. Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Nagel Draxler. Photo: Jean-Pierre Duplan

On Silence has been conceived for Doha, a multicultural global city of migration, continuously adapting to social and political developments in the region and the world. The exhibition aims to engage the audience in reflections on issues of heritage and aspiration, convention and transgression, colonialism and liberation, the local and the transnational. All these are addressed in Attia's work, as are debates on ecology, and our material and non-material relationship to the universe. The continuing thread through his art is a focus on how enforced silence can lead to oppression and trauma, and how this silence can be broken during revolutionary moments in response to injustice.

Two major new works have been commissioned for the exhibition. The first, The Object’s Interlacing, which consists of a film and reproductions of African sculptures, explores the labyrinthine debate surrounding the restitution of artefacts taken from the continent during colonial times. The second, On Silence, is an installation made of multiple body prostheses, presenting objects of repair for people who have lost limbs in conflict zones. The work, placed at the centre of the show, invites visitors to reflect on the exhibition themes, which create a powerful catalyst for discussion and contemplation. These two recent works evoke the idea of silence as a necessary state in every dialogue, alongside voices, movement, imagination and emotion.

Kader Attia artwork of a collection of tusks

Kader Attia (b. 1970). Schizophrenic Melancholia, 2018. Merino sheep horns, magnets, 120 cm (diameter). Regen Projects Collection, Los Angeles

Kader Attia artwork of mannequin limbs suspended above

Kader Attia (b. 1970). On Silence, 2020. Protheses, variable dimensions. Commissioned by Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art, Doha

Close up of Kader Attia's artwork of mannequin limbs suspended above

Kader Attia (b. 1970). On Silence, 2020. Protheses, variable dimensions. Commissioned by Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art, Doha

Broken glass scattered on the floor of the gallery space

Kader Attia (b. 1970). Le grand miroir du monde (The Big Mirror of the World), 2017. Mirrors, variable dimensions. Courtesy of the artist and Galleria Continua, San Gimignano

Geometric Design Wall Mural

Kader Attia (b. 1970). Untitled (Wallpainting), 2020. Acrylic, variable dimensions. Courtesy of the artist.

About the Artist

Born in Dugny in the north of Paris in 1970, Kader Attia grew up between Algeria and France. He went on to study at the École Duperré (Paris, 1993); the Escola Massana Sin Barcelona (1994); and the École nationale supérieure des arts décoratifs (Paris, 1998), before spending several years in Congo and South America.

Attia's work is developed using multimedia objects embedded with theoretical references and archival materials that investigate thought systems and ideologies. His exploration of the material and nonmaterial existence of traditional civilisations asks questions of the colonial legacies that colour perceptions of history and claims of ownership within societies today. His work draws attention to contemporary issues of cultural identity, immigration, gender and politics.

Recent solo exhibitions include: Kader Attia. Remembering the Future, Kunsthaus, Zürich (2020); The Museum of Emotion, The Hayward Gallery, London (2019); Roots also grow in concrete, Mac Val, Vitry-sur-Seine (2018); and Repair. 5 Acts, KW Institute, Berlin (2013). Group exhibitions include: Participation Mystique, Shanghai Ming Contemporary Art Museum, Shanghai (2020); Our World Is Burning, Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2020); When Home Won’t Let You Stay: Migration Through Contemporary Art, ICA Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston (2019); the 12th Gwangju Biennale (2018); Viva Art Viva, the 57th Venice Biennale (2017); Tamawuj, the 13th Sharjah Art Biennale (2017); The City in the Blue Daylight, Dak’Art 2016, the 12th Dakar Biennale for Contemporary African Art (2016); Rainbow in the Dark, SALT Galata, Istanbul (2014–15); Documenta (13), Kassel (2012).

In 2016, Attia established La Colonie in Paris, a decolonial space for dialogue and exchange, focused on amplifying the voices of marginalised artists and thinkers. He has been awarded the Marcel Duchamp Prize (2016); the Joan Miró Prize (2017); and the Yanghyun Art Prize (2017). He was also a recipient of the Abraj Capital Prize (2010) and Prize of the Cairo Biennale (2008). Kader Attia lives and works between Germany and France.

Share this page

قادر عطية: عن الصمت

المعرض السابق

"قادر عطية: عن الصمت" هو معرض فردي كبير مخصّص لأعمال الفنان قادر عطية خلال العقدين الماضيين، من تقييم عبد الله كروم وقيّمة المعرض المساعِدة لينا رمضان.

سيشمل المعرض مجموعة واسعة من الأعمال متعددة الوسائط، إضافة إلى تركيبات خاصة بالموقع في متحف، ومنحوتات، وكولاج، ورسومات، وفيديو، وصور فوتوغرافية.

يتناول معرض"قادر عطية: عن الصمت" موضوعات مخلفات ما بعد الاستعمار والعقود التي تلتها من "الإصلاح" النفسي على المستوى الاجتماعي والفردي. ويهدف الفنان من خلاله إلى إثارة التجربة العاطفية والجسدية للزوّار أثناء مشاهدتهم الأعمال الموضوعة على مستويات مختلفة، تُرى من الأعلى ومن الأسفل ومن الداخل ولكن نادراً ما تكون مباشرة. وسيقدّم المعرض كذلك عملين فنيين جديدين مُعدَّين خصيصاً للدوحة.

شهد التاريخ الحديث والمعاصر بعضاً من أضجِّ المآسي التي مرّت على البشرية، والحقبة الراهنة متأثرة بما خلّفته تلك الأحداث من ذكريات مؤلمة. كما أدّت عوامل الاستعمار والاضطهاد السياسي والدمار البيئي إلى موجات هجرة ضخمة عبر القارات، وهو ما أدخل تحوّلات على النسيج الاجتماعي في كافة أرجاء العالم. إلا أن الأيديولوجيات وأنظمة الحكم المعمول بها في عصرنا الحالي تواصل غالباً خلق فضاءات من الصمت تؤدي إلى طمس الكثير من تلك السرديات التاريخية.

يُعالج المعرض مفهوم الصمت، تلك الظاهرة التي تستدعي الصراخ، من خلال مجموعة أعمال تستحضر تأملاً معمقاً في تلك الصدمات التي تلت الاستعمار وما ينطوي على ذلك من حالة "إصلاح" نفسي. ويساهم التركيز على الأعمال التي أنتجها الفنان على مدى العقدين الماضيين، بسرد المعرض لقضايا تؤثّر على الإنسانية بأسرها، ولكن مع الاهتمام بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا التي تشهد حالة من "الصمت المطبق" في قضايا ثقافية، واجتماعية، وتاريخية، والتابوهات التي تقلّص فضاءات التعبير وتجعلها بمثابة تحديات في الحياة العامة والنقاش السياسي. 

العمل الفني"شبح" الذي يعرض أشكالًا متعددة تشبه أشباح مصنوعة من رقائق الألومنيوم.

تمّ تنظيم هذا المعرض خصيصاً للدوحة، وهي مدينة متعددة الثقافات ومستمرة التأقلم والتكيّف على الدوام مع التطورات الاجتماعية والسياسية في المنطقة والعالم. يسعى المعرض إلى دفع الجمهور لتقصّي مواضيع التراث والطموح، والعهود والاعتداء، والاستعمار والتحرير، ومفهوم المحلي والعابر للحدود. وإلى جانب هذه المواضيع، تطرح أعمال قادر نقاشات حول البيئة وعلاقتنا المادية وغير المادية بالكون. أما القاسم المشترَك الذي يربط إنتاجه الفني هو التركيز على إمكانية الصمت القسري أن يؤدي للاضطهاد والصدمة، وكيف يمكن أحياناً كسر هذا الصمت خلال لحظات ثورية تأتي كردّ فعل على حالة الظلم.

يضمّ المعرض عملين رئيسين تم إنتاجهما خصيصاً لقاعات المتحف. الأول هو "تشابك الأشياء" والذي ينطوي على فيلم ونِسخ شبه الأصل من منحوتات إفريقية، ويستقصي الجدل المعقَّد المرتبط بإعادة الأعمال الفنية واللقى الأثرية التي تمّ الاستحواذ عليها من القارة الإفريقية خلال حقبة الاستعمار. أما الثاني "عن الصمت" فهو عمل تركيبي مكوّن من أطراف صناعية تُجسد وسيلة من وسائل علاج ضحايا فقدوا أطرافهم في مناطق النزاعات.

يُمثل هذا العمل، الذي يحتل مركز المعرض، دعوة للزوّار للتفكير في المواضيع المطروحة، ومحفّزاً قوياً للنقاش والتأمل. وإلى جانب الصوت والحركة والخيال والمشاعر، يستحضر هذان العملان مفهوم الصمت باعتباره حالة ضرورية لكل حوار.

عمل فني للفنان قادر عطية من مجموعة الأنياب

 

عمل فني للفنان قادر عطية يضم أطرافاً صناعية لماليكان

 

قطع زجاجية مكسرة ومتناثرة على أرضية مساحة المعرض

 

جدارية ذات تصاميم هندسية

 

نبذة عن الفنان

وُلد قادر عطية في بلدة دوغني شمال باريس عام 1970، ونشأ متنقلاً بين الجزائر وفرنسا. تخرّج من كلية دوبيريه في العاصمة الفرنسية عام 1993، وكلية ماسانا في برشلونة عام 1994، والمدرسة الوطنية العليا للفنون الزخرفية في باريس عام 1998، قبل أن يمضي عدة سنوات في كلٍّ من الكونغو وأمريكا الجنوبية.

يستخدم عطية في أعماله خامات ووسائط متعددة مع إحالات لمفاهيم نظرية ومواد أرشيفية تستقصي الأنظمة الفكرية والأيديولوجيات. يطرح استكشافه لكينونة كل ما هو ماديّ وغير ماديّ في الحضارات التقليدية أسئلة بخصوص أشكال الإرث الاستعماري في مجتمع اليوم والتي تُبدِّل سرديات التاريخ وتزعم امتلاك ما ليس لها. كما تُسلّط أعماله الضوء على قضايا معاصرة، ولا سيما الهوية الثقافية والهجرة والنوع الاجتماعي والسياسة.

من بين المعارض الفردية الأحدث التي أُقيمت للفنان "قادر عطية: تذكُّر المستقبل"، متحف الفنون، زيورخ (2020)؛ "متحف المشاعِر" (غاليري هايوارد)، لندن (2019)؛ "تنمو الجذور في الإسمنت أيضاً"، متحف الفن المعاصر، فيتري سور سين (2018)؛ و"إصلاح. 5 فصول"، معهد كونست فيركيه للفن المعاصر، برلين (2013). كما ساهم في العديد من المعارض الجماعية، منها: "مشاركة غامضة"، متحف شانغهاي مينغ للفن المعاصر، شانغهاي (2020)؛ "عالمنا يحترق"، متحف قصر طوكيو، باريس (2020)؛ و"عندما يمنعك الوطن من البقاء. الهجرة في الفن المعاصر"، معهد الفنون المعاصرة، بوسطن (2019)؛ الدورة 12 لبينالي غوانجو (2018)؛ "فيفا آرت فيفا"، الدورة 57 لبينالي البندقية (2017)؛ "تماوُج"، الدورة 13 لبينالي الشارقة (2017)؛ "المدينة في ضوء النهار الأزرق"، داك آرت 2016، الدورة 12 لبينالي داكار للفن الأفريقي المعاصر (2016)؛ "قوس قزح في الظلام"، مؤسسة سالت غلاطة، إسطنبول (2014-2015)؛ والدورة 13 لمعرض دوكيومنتا، كاسل (2012).

أسَّس عطية في باريس عام 2016 فضاءً للحوار وتبادل الخبرات يهتم بتفكيك الفكر الاستعماري، ويُركز على الإعلاء من شأن أصوات الفنانين والمفكرين المهمَّشين. كما نال جائزة مارسيل دوشامب عام 2016، وجائزة خوان ميرون عام 2017؛ وجائزة يانغهيون الفنية عام 2017، وجائزة أبراج كابيتال للفنون عام 2010، وجائزة بينالي القاهرة عام 2008. 

يُقيم قادر عطية ويعمل متنقلاً بين ألمانيا وفرنسا.   

شارك هذه الصفحة