tbc
Back
Adults

Khalid Albaih: Shahid

Exhibition

Free with museum admission.

Book here.

Since 1948, the world has borne witness to the plight of Palestine, to the atrocities committed from the Nakba (the catastrophe) onwards. Today, the prevalence of social media and live streaming renders these events increasingly visible. In Shahid, Arabic for witness, artist Khalid Albaih invites visitors to reflect on their role as witnesses to the ongoing ethnic cleansing in Gaza.

Share with a friend

Shahid, a project space exhibition, is an interactive audiovisual installation composed of four printed digital illustrations displayed on a mirror spanning the width of the wall; these drawings reference poignant moments that have gone viral across social media, resulting in an unprecedented number of witnesses to this ongoing live tragedy.

Visitors' reflections in the mirror, among depictions of the victims, emphasise their role as witnesses. The experience is intensified by an image of Gaza’s destroyed cityscape reflected in the mirror. Furthermore, visitors are encouraged to take part in recording the names and ages of martyrs in the exhibition space.

Through this installation, Albaih stresses the individual’s role as a witness by showing visitors that they represent one more voice added to those speaking out for Palestine against biased global media outlets. This use of reflection – both literal and figurative – highlights the world’s complicity in this tragedy, which has exposed the prejudices and injustice of contemporary politics and international law.

This interactive installation looks at what it means to be a witness to the devastation unfolding in Palestine and encourages the visitor to reflect on the responsibility that comes with that role; It leads us to ask ourselves what we would do if we were one of those depicted and how we would feel if the world stood idle, watching our demise. During the most recent atrocities, Palestine has received substantial attention worldwide, with a flood of international advocacy efforts from the public. People have mobilised through a multitude of avenues, from mass protests and targeted boycotts to running various programs in solidarity with Palestine.

In combining digital drawings, sound elements, and an engaging installation design, Albaih has created an immersive experience that brings his artistic practice into a new direction.

خالد البيه: شاهد

المعارض

مجاناً مع تذكرة دخول المتحف.

يجب حجز التذاكر عبر الإنترنت قبل الزيارة.

شهد العالم محنة فلسطين والفظائع التي ارتُكبت منذ النكبة في عام 1948 وحتى يومنا هذا. وفي الوقت الحاضر، أدى انتشار وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والبث المباشر إلى جعل هذه الأحداث مرئية بشكل متزايد. في العمل الفني "شاهد"، يدعو خالد البيه الزوار إلى التفكير في دورهم كشهود على التطهير العرقي الذي يحدث في غزة.

المشاركة مع صديق

"شاهد"، معرضٌ تابع لسلسلة معارض فضاء المشاريع، هو عمل فني تركيبي يوظف وسائل سمعية وبصرية تفاعلية، ويتألف من أربعة رسوم رقمية معروضة على مرآة ممتدة بعرض الحائط. تصور هذه الرسوم لحظات مؤثرة انتشرت عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، أدى انتشارها إلى زيادة عدد الشهود بشكل غير مسبوق على هذه المأساة التي تنقل مباشرة في الإعلام ووسائل التواصل.

تؤكد انعكاسات الزوار في المرآة، من بين صور الضحايا، على دورهم كشهود على الجرائم المرتكبة، وتشتد حدة هذه التجربة بانعكاس صورة لمدينة غزة المدمرة في المرآة. بالإضافة إلى تشجيع الزوار على المشاركة في تسجيل أسماء وأعمار الشهداء في مساحة المعرض.

من خلال هذا العمل الفني التركيبي، يؤكد البيه على دور الفرد كشاهد عيان على هذه الأحداث، عبر التوضيح للزوار أنهم يمثلون صوتاً إضافياً إلى أولئك الذين يتحدثون عن فلسطين ضد وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية المتحيزة. ويأتي أثر الانعكاس، سواء حرفياً أو مجازياً، ليكشف عن تواطؤ العالم في هذه المأساة، وعن التحيز والظلم في السياسة المعاصرة والقانون الدولي.

يبحث التركيب الفني في معنى أن يكون الفرد شاهداً على الدمار الذي يحدث في فلسطين، كما يشجعنا كزوار على التفكير بتلك المسؤولية التي تقع على عاتقنا، ويجعلنا نطرح السؤال على أنفسنا، فماذا سنفعل إن كنا أحد هؤلاء الذين صوِّروا وكيف سنشعر إذا وقف العالم مكتوف الأيدي يراقب زوالنا. خلال الفظائع الأخيرة، حظيت فلسطين باهتمام كبير في جميع أنحاء العالم، عبر جهود المناصرة الدولية من الشعوب، وتجمع الناس عبر العديد من السبل، إلى التعبير عن احتجاجاتهم والمقاطعة المستهدفة وبرامج عديدة تضامناً مع فلسطين.

من خلال الجمع بين الرسومات الرقمية وعناصر الصوت وتصميم التركيب التفاعلي، ابتكر البيه تجربة فنية فريدة تنقل ممارسته كفنان ورسام كاريكاتير إلى اتجاه جديد.